what a nap!

November 27, 2009

Ahhh!  Made it back to my HQ this afternoon at 4pm after a wonderful drive back to this side of the Puget Sound.  Left the Seattle area about noon thirty, and turned left at the light!  Choice was to turn right and go back to the ferry and sit in the car for 30 minutes, or go left and take an adventure through a couple of small towns and do the Tacoma/Bremerton/Hood Canal Bridge approach to HQ.  It took a bit longer, but the weather was spectacular — temperature in the low 50s.  Another heat wave.

I took photos as I drove, smiled at the sun (hmmm…. is this some sort of sun love I don’t know of?), and didn’t care how long the drove took, as long as the views didn’t disappoint.  Found the views of Tacoma simply stunning.  Did I say that?  I stopped for a quick bite of food (after some delicious oats for breakfast–would make my mom gag!) a trip to the local ATM, and back to the road.  The sun was still out, causing amazingly beautiful cloud formations.  

When I got to 3N, and maybe 10 miles from the Hood Canal Bridge, the considerable traffic drew to a halt. After close to 30 minutes of stop and go movement, I snapped a few photos out the windows of the car with the telephoto lens, getting the little fern on the side of the road, the gorgeous leafless apple tree with masses of apples both on and off the tree.  Took them without glasses, so they could be big blurs!

Lots of locals turned around at various places and presumably took back roads.  I enjoyed the view of the big white truck in front of me.  One of those stop and smell the roses moments, for sure.  Thirty minutes over, the traffic resumed the usual zoom up to the 50mph speed limit in this area.  I tuned left on at the Hood Canal Bridge, and took the first right after the bridge.  Oops.  I knew a right turn was coming, but didn’t realize it was another 5 or so miles down the road.  So, I drove for a while down Paradise Bay Road, and finally turned around when I realized that darkness was approaching.  I wanted to go to the QFC and get some snacks so that I didn’t have to go out to dinner.  Got some apple waldorf salad, a few pieces of roasted winter squash, blueberries, orange juice and a packet of instant cocoa.  Walked through the door of HQ just after 4pm.  

Very happily entered my room, and found the fireplace on and the temperature amenable.  What a crew!  A very thoughtful thing to do.

Had some food.  I realize that what I bought sounds like a lot, but I had only a couple of bites of winter squash, some apple salad, a sip of orange juice and something else that I can’t remember right now. 

Then came the nap.  Ah, the nap.  Pulled back the covers of the bed, stacked the pillows and fell into a welcoming spot.  Intended to snore for about an hour, but didn’t wake up until nearly 8pm.  Yikes!

Oh yes, QFC is a local market chain.  Acronymically speaking, it is Quality Food Centers.  Like other stores with nothing special.  

The day before I went across the water for Turkey Day, I went to the Mt. Townsend Creamery for some cheeses, a little salami, and a few other choice things thrown in to take to my friends’ place.  The choices were a hit!  Lots of “mmm” and “yummy” going on.

So with an early nap, another few bites of food, some writing, some tv, a hot drink, and thoughts of that comfy bed return to my life.

It’s now 11:37pm.  Up since 6am with a nap.  I guess it’s ok to think of sleep again.  Going to look at rental places around the outlying areas of Sacramento.  For fun?  For reality?  

Bed.  No needles to fabric today.

Later…………

Leave a Reply

